Open Mobile Menu


Here at Rushbrook Primary Academy, we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum in Nursery and Reception. We have a highly skilled team of Early Years Teachers and Teaching Assistants who have a sound understanding of early child development and a great deal of experience working with this age group. This strong team is managed by Mrs Murphy, our Early Years Foundation Stage, (EYFS), Lead. The team is also supported by our Headteacher, Mr Carroll, the Headteacher and Mrs Helliar who are both Early Years specialists and has previously worked as EYFS Teachers.

Nursery and Reception folkow the new EYFS Statutory Framework.

“Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning

together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.”

Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage.

This framework sets out the educational programmes which must shape the activities and experiences for all children from birth to five years old in order to provide the best foundations for children to thrive. In addition to this there is the Non-Statutory Curriculum Guidance “Development Matters” which supports the delivery of the Framework. A link to this document can be found below.

Learning and development

The framework includes seven areas of learning that are equally important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly important for sparking an enthusiasm for learning and forming relationships.

The Prime Areas of Learning: –

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The prime areas are strengthened and applied through 4 Specific Areas of Learning:



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design

You can look at these Areas of Learning in more detail by clicking on the “Nursery Overview” and “Reception Overview” at the bottom of this page.

Characteristics of Effective Teaching and Learning In addition to addressing all seven Areas of Learning our curriculum is designed to promote the Characteristics of Effective Learning. These characteristics describe how the children will learn. These learning behaviours are particularly important in the EYFS because they build the foundations for children to be lifelong learners. The characteristics are:

· Playing and Exploring – Engagement

· Active Learning – Motivation

· Creating and Thinking Critically – Thinking

Playing and exploring>>Active Learning>>Creating and thinking critically

Planning and assessment

We offer the children in Nursery and Reception a “hands-on” play based curriculum, both indoors and outdoors, throughout the day. We are a Montessori accredited Early Years, all our staff are trained Montessori practitioners. The Montessori ethos is to support children to be independent and critical thinkers. We have a sequenced curriculum that starts from Nursery and is built on in Reception and Year 1 and beyond. Our planning is flexible and can change in response to children’s ideas and interests. Planning may also be linked to events in the community or around the world.

“Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, relate to others, set their own goals and solve problems. Children learn by leading their own play, and by taking part in play which is guided by adults.”

Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage

In addition to the activities planned by the adults, the children are offered plenty of opportunities to direct their own learning and staff are highly skilled in observing the children and recognising opportunities to support and extend children’s ideas.

All children starting Reception will take part in the Reception Baseline Assessment. Please see the information for parents document produced by the DfE below to explain the process.

At the end of the Reception Year children will be assessed for the EYFS Profile. Each of the seven areas will be further broken down into the following categories.

Pupils are assessed against the 17 Early Learning Goals, indicating whether they are meeting expected levels of development, or if they are not yet reaching expected levels (“emerging”). The Profile reflects ongoing observations, practitioners’ knowledge and discussions with parents and carers.

At Rushbrook Primary Academy we offer a range of Parents’ Workshops throughout the year to allow parents and carers the opportunity to gain an insight into our practice during this important Key Stage of Learning and offer advice on how to support your child at home.

To find out more information about the Early Years Foundation Stage please see the documents section at the bottom of the page.

To find out more information about the Early Years Foundation Stage please see the documents section at the bottom of the page.

Subject Overview

EYFS Subject Statements

Useful documents for parents

Proud to part of the Bright Futures Education Trust
Rushbrook Primary Academy
101 Shillingford Road
Gorton, Manchester M18 7TN